gtag('config', 'G-4J8L8BEK7P');
Connect with us

Hi, what are you looking for?



The Police Service Commission (PSC) has promoted 417 Senior Police Officers and also given approval for the Promotion Examinations for Police Officers scheduled to start from the next year 2023 in line with the Public Service Rules.

These approvals were given at the 15th Plenary Meeting of the Commission in Abuja presided over by the Acting Chairman of PSC, Justice Clara Bata Ogunbiyi, JSC (rtd).

The promotions include two Deputy Inspectors General of Police (DIGs), 12 Assistant Inspectors General of Police (AIGs), and 403 others to their next ranks.

Advertisement. Scroll to continue reading.

Among the newly promoted DIGs are AIG Bello A. Sadiq, currently AIG Zone 1, Kano and AIG Dandaura Mustapha, AIG Zone 4, Makurdi.

While Sadiq was appointed to fill the vacant position of DIG, Force Intelligence Bureau (FIB), DIG Dandaura whose appointment takes effect from October 20th, 2022 will be replacing, DIG Sadiq who is expected to retire from the service on the said date.

The 12 Commissioners of Police promoted to the next rank of Assistant Inspector General of Police are:  CP Egbetokun Olukayode Adeolu, Admin Medical, Falamo, Lagos; CP Emienbo Tony Tuesday Assayomo, Kwara State Command; CP Christiana Ibiso Cookey, Welfare,  Force Headquarters; CP Evelyn  Tamunoimi Peterside, Eastern Port and CP Eboka Friday,  Rivers State Command.

Others are CP Adesina Musbau Soyemi, Nasarawa State Command; CP Asafa Adekunle, CMOT, FCT; CP Edward Chuka Egbuka, Kogi State Command; CP Janet Agbede, Abia State Command; CP Oruebo  Josiah Daso, Research and Development, FHQ; CP Olokode Taoheed Olawale, Osun State Command; and CP Abutu Yaro,  Edo State Command.

Advertisement. Scroll to continue reading.

The approved 286 Superintendents of Police promoted to Chief Superintendents include; SP Joseph Sunday Eyanagho, Osun State Command; SP Oluwatoyin Joseph Adesope, Anambra State Command; SP Christopher D, Chiroma, SIB Sokoto; SP Ugochukwu Kingsley Ijeoma, DPO Omoku, Rivers State; SP Emmanuel Okwudili  Nwangwu, Commander EOD Base 6 Port Harcourt; SP Moses Maku, FCT Command; SP Numan Umaru Ismaila, Bauchi State Command; SP Uchenna Noah, Commander Anambra State Special Anti Cult Squad; SP Jummai Omata Kuforiji; SP Ugah Okoh Joseph; SP Makama Evans Linus; SP Dahiru Nda Ibrahim;  SP Ibrahim Ignatius; SP Mohammad Bashir; SP Dorothy Igweze, Enugu state Command; SP Joseph Ugwu Onaji, FCIID and SP Andrew Mgbabor, Lagos State Command among others.

Furthermore, the Commission approved the commencement of Promotion Examinations for Police Officers from 2023. The Commission took notice of the Public Service Rules 020701, 020702, 020703 and 160304 which prescribed examinations as one of the conditions for promotions in the Public Service and approved that henceforth promotion examination will be a prerequisite for promotions in the Nigeria Police Force.

The Commission also approved the setting up of the Police Promotion Examination Board. The 11-Member Board will have a representative of the Nigeria Police Force who must not be below the rank of a Deputy Inspector General of Police.

The ongoing I5th plenary meeting of the Commission will resume on Thursday, October 6th 2022 with an interactive meeting with Deputy Commissioners of Police recommended for promotion to the rank of Commissioners of Police.

Advertisement. Scroll to continue reading.


Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

In other news