Makinde, Akande, Okebukola, Others To Attend 45th CASSON International Conference

 Makinde, Akande, Okebukola, Others To Attend 45th CASSON International Conference

Oyo State Governor, Engr Oluseyi Makinde; Chairman of the Nigerian Communications Commission (NCC), Prof. Adeolu Akande; a former Boss of the National Universities Commission, Prof. Peter Okebukola, and other dignitaries are expected to grace the opening ceremony of the 45th International Conference of the Counselling Association of Nigeria, CASSON, holding at the University of Ibadan, between Tuesday 17th August and Thursday, 19th August, 2021.

While Governor Makinde is to grace the annual Conference as the special guest of honour, Prof. Akande will Chairs the opening ceremony, while Prof. Okebukola will deliver the keynote address and the acting Vice Chancellor of the University, Prof. Babatunde Ekanola will receive the participants as the Chief Host.

Now in its 45th edition, the CASSON Conference is Africa’s largest congregation of Counselling Psychologists and allied Professionals, who meet annually to examine pressing issues relevant to the counselling profession and practice in Nigeria and globally.

This year’s theme, “Counselling for Effective Citizenship and National Rebirth”, is expected to examine how Counselling Psychologists can help to stimulate effective citizenship and nudge Nigeria towards the pathway of sustainable growth and development.

According to CASSON President, Prof. Elizabeth Omotunde Egbochuku, the Broadcasting Corporation of Oyo State (BCOS) and Nigeria’s oldest Newspaper, African Newspaper of Nigeria Ltd, (publisher of the Tribune titles) have been selected for institutional recognitions for their unique contributions to societal transformation and development through their media.

The 3-day Conference which will feature experts’ presentations on various sub-themes targeted at developing cutting-edge solutions to Nigeria’s citizenship crisis, will also see notable Professionals and Institutions honoured for their contributions to the society.

The awardees include Prof. Taslim Ayobami Hammed of the University of Ibadan; Prof. Abdulrashid Garba; Dr U. J. Uranika, among other distinguished Counselling Professionals.


Related post

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: