INEC Fixes Sept 18, Oct. 10 For Edo, Ondo Polls

 INEC Fixes Sept 18, Oct. 10 For Edo,   Ondo Polls

The Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) has slated September 19 and October 10 for the respective governorship election of Edo and Ondo States.

The INEC Chairman Prof. Mahmood Yakubu, made the announcement on Thursday amidst the  delisting of 74 political parties.

With their removal from the list of registered parties, there are now 18 recognised parties that can participate in future elections.

The certified parties are: Accord Party (AP), Action Alliance (AA), African Democratic Congress (ADC),African Democratic Party (ADP), All Progressives Congress (APC), All Progressives Grand Alliance (APGA), Allied Peoples Movement (APM), Labour Party (LP) and New Nigeria Peoples Party (NNPP).

Others are: National Rescue Movement (NRM), the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP), Peoples Redemption Party (PRP), Social Democratic Party (SDP), the Young Progressive Party (YPP) and Zenith Labour Party (ZLP).

The registered political parties, which reacted angrily to INEC’s decision, said it was sub judice, saying they would take legal action against the commission.

 The late Chief Gani Fawehinmi’s National Conscience Party and Pastor Chris Okotie’s Fresh Party, are no more recognized are part of the parties deregistered.

Related post

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: