The Origin And Metamorphosis

Broadcasting, in 1932, was introduced into the country, Nigeria, by the Colonial Master, Britain. The history of Broadcasting in Nigeria is connected to the era of colonization in the country. Being colonized by Britain, Nigeria, a West African Country even with her own many ethnic groups, became an English-speaking country and her official language, English.

The Champion Of Broadcasting In Nigeria

The idea of Regionalization made Nigeria to be carved into three (3) regions namely: Northern Region, Western Region and Eastern Region. The capital of Western Region was Ibadan. Broadcasting indigenously, started in Nigeria from Ibadan, the capital of Western Region (which today is the capital of Oyo State).

Broadcasting had been championed in the Western Region of Nigeria, even before, the country gained her independence from Britain in 1960. It was in 1958 that Western Region, ahead of others, went into Broadcasting by establishing the Western Nigeria Government Broadcasting Corporation (WNGBC) to offer both Radio and Television services.

Pacesetter Status

With statism, Nigeria jettisoned Regionalism and at different times in the history of Nigeria state creation took place.  Even though, with the creation of states, Ibadan at no time has seized from being a capital.  Therefore, with the creation of states in 1976 (Oyo, Ogun and Ondo states out of Western state)’ and 1991 (Osun state out of Oyo State), the core of Broadcasting has remained in Ibadan the capital of Oyo State.

Also, Ibadan has retained the pace-setter status in Broadcasting in Nigeria. Fortunately, with the Western Nigeria Government Broadcasting Corporation (WNGBC) no more in operation, it is in Oyo State and Ibadan as the capital that the BROADCASTING CORPORATION OF OYO STATE (BCOS) is domiciled, for the glory of the pace-setter to continue.

The BCOS once adopted the idea of referring to its outfits (Radio and Television) as channels.  The channels were three (3) in number before the elevation to stations.   The channels were the Radio 1 on the Medium Wave (MW) located at Orita Basorun, Ibadan which was commissioned in 1976; Radio 2 on Frequency Modulation (FM) stereo located at Mapo, Ibadan and commissioned in 1978.(it was the first FM Radio in Nigeria); and Television on channel 28 ultra-High Frequency (UHF) and commissioned in 1982.

However, the three (3) channels were categorized as two (2) stations.  The audio channels, that is Radio 1 and Radio 2 were known as RADIO O-Y-O AND PUT UNDER A Management.  The audio-visual channel was called, TELEVISION SERVICE OF OYO STATE (TSOS).  Also, it had its own management.

At a time, the TSOS was qualified, New Day Television” and at another, “New Era Television”.  But when arose a situation, a merger of the audio and audio-visual stations came about and the two (2) stations put under a single Management with the name the BROADCASTING CORPORATION OF OYO STATE (BCOS) and adjective THE PACESETTER more pronounced.

The Installation Of Transmitters And Its Effectiveness

The single-management idea was enforced in the Old-Oyo state during the military Regime and persisted, even after the creation of Osun State (out of Oyo State).  The BCOS  Radio I was run on a network of Transmitting stations located in Ibadan, Gambari (near Ogbomoso) and Oje-Owode (formerly Aha) near Saki with Links at Ilora and Ipaapo in order to ensure a loss-free transmission of programmes sent out of the Ibadan transmitters at Ile-Akede, Orita Basorun.

In relation to the BCOS Radio II, the transmitters were installed right on top of the popular Mapo Hill in the Mapo Area of Ibadan.  Due to the height advantage, the FM transmitters was able to radiate effectively and the station received without distortions.

Concerning the Television, station, it is sited at Ile-Akede, Orita-Basorun, Ibadan but its transmitters at Old-Ife Road, Ibadan and Alaga in the Oke-Ogun Area of Oyo State.  The television station has remained the Nations Pride (which is its slogan) with its clear, perfect signal and quality programming.

The Birth Of New Stations

Following the trend, the state Government established more Radio Stations. In 2009, AJILETE FM in Ogbomoso and Oke-Ogun FM at Alaga commenced transmission. Also, in 2010, OLUYOLE FM at Old Ife Road Ibadan, commenced transmission. For a better service, the RADIO O-Y-O II on 98.5KHz FM in stereo seized operation for a ground plan.