Governor Makinde Charges OYSIEC To Conduct Credible, Unbiased LG Election

 Governor Makinde Charges OYSIEC To Conduct Credible, Unbiased LG Election

Oyo State Governor, Engr Seyi Makinde, has inaugurated the Oyo State Independent Electoral Commission (OYSIEC), charging its members to deliver credible, free and fair Local Government election in the State.

The Governor stated that the Commission, headed by Mr Isiaka Olagunju, has been saddled with the responsibility of overseeing an election, which outcome will reflect the will of the people.

He charged the Commission to, within the shortest possible time, make the will of the people prevail by conducting a Local Government election that is unbiased.

The Governor, while speaking at the Government House, Agodi, Ibadan, venue of the swearing-in, on Thursday, September 3, 2020, said his administration is ready to conduct the Local Government election, as it has allocated money for OYSIEC in the 2020 Budget.

He promised that his administration would not interfere with the activities of the Commission; urging politicians not to see elections as war or a do-or-die affair, but allow the will of the people to prevail.

Governor Makinde, who said he has not yet indicated whether he will be running for another term in 2023 or not, as it is too early to be thinking of that for now, appealed to the opposition in the State not to overheat the polity.

Speaking on behalf of the Board members shortly after the swearing-in, the Chairman, Oyo State Independent Electoral Commission, Mr Olagunju, assured the people of the State that the Board will conduct a credible and transparent Local Government election.

He called on the people to have confidence and trust in the Commission, adding that they will not be biased towards any political party and that the will of the people will prevail.

The Board members include: Comrade Adeniji Babatunde, Alhaja Ganiyat Saka, Mr. Emmanuel Olanrewaju, Chief Kunmi Agboola, Mr Aderemi Ayoade, Mr Sunday Falana and Mr Adeojo Elias.

The swearing-in was attended by the State’s Deputy Governor, Engr Rauf Olaniyan; Secretary to the State Government, Mrs. Olubamiwo Adeosun; Chief of Staff, Chief Bisi Ilaka; Head of Service, Mrs. Ololade Agboola, other cabinet members, as well as chieftains of the PDP in the State, led by the Chairman, Alhaji Kunmi Mustapha.


Related post

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: