FG To Re-Introduce Toll-Gates, Concession Of 12 Highways

 FG To Re-Introduce Toll-Gates, Concession Of 12 Highways

The Federal Government is set to reintroduce toll-gates on Nigerian roads as 12 highways have been earmarked for concession to private Companies.

The Minister of Works and Housing, Mr Babatunde Fashola made this known in Abuja, on Friday, January 29, 2021, while receiving the Outline Business Case Certificate of Compliance for 12 pilot Federal Highways billed for concession.

The Minister said the 12 earmarked roads were under the Ministry’s Highway Development Management Initiative, HDMI; adding that the Infrastructure Concession Regulatory Commission would hand over the certificate to the Ministry at the FMWH Headquarters in the FCT.

The 12 highways in the pilot phase include: Benin-Asaba highway, Abuja-Lokoja highway, Kano-Katsina highway, Onitsha-Owerri highway, Shagamu-Benin highway and Abuja-Keffi-Akwanga highway.

Others are: Kano-Shuari highway, Potiskum-Damaturu highway, Lokoja-Benin highway, Enugu-Port Harcourt highway, Ilorin-Jebba highway, Lagos-Ota-Abeokuta highway, and Lagos-Badagry-Seme Border highway, which have a combined 1,963km stretch

A document on the objectives of the HDMI presented by Mr Fashola indicated- that the initiative would attract sustainable investment and funding in the development of road infrastructure in the country.


Related post

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: