COVID-19 Delta Variant: FG Places Six States On Red Alert

Photo: The SGF and Chairman, Presidential Steering Committee on COVID-19, Mr Boss Mustapha.

The Federal Government has placed six States on red alert amid fears of a third wave triggered by the Delta variant of the virus; the variant believing to be more contagious and deadlier.

According to a statement signed by the the Secretary to the Government of the Federation and Chairman of the Presidential Steering Committee on COVID-19, Mr Boss Mustapha, on Saturday, July 17, 2021, the States on red alert include Lagos, Oyo, Rivers, Kaduna, Kano, Plateau and the FCT.

The remaining States were warned to “heighten their State of preparedness and continue to enforce all protocols put in place.”

Ahead of the Eid-el-Kabir celebrations, the PSC warned against large gatherings and urged State Governments and religious leaders to be mindful of the potential spread.

The committee urged the decentralisation of Eid prayer to outdoor neighborhood Friday prayer mosques and the suspension of Durbar activities; appealing that Nigerians should observe limitations on all indoor gatherings.

He noted that all open Eid grounds should have multiple entry and exit points with hand washing and temperature checking facilities.

The SGF added that the holding capacity of Eid grounds should be reduced to 50 per cent to ensure physical and social distancing; stating that Eid prayers should not exceed one hour.


Related post

1 Comment

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: