gtag('config', 'G-4J8L8BEK7P');
Connect with us

Hi, what are you looking for?



The Minister of Special Duties and Intergovernmental Affairs, George Akume has said that a total of 447 out of over 5000 nominees received are being presented with the National Honours Awards by President Buhari.

Akume stated this in his opening address at the National Honours Awards Investiture at the International Conference Centre, Abuja on Tuesday.

He added that nominees were drawn from various walks of life across the public and private sectors.

Advertisement. Scroll to continue reading.

Senate President Lawan, Hon Justice Olukayode Ariwoola; Hon Justice Ibrahim Tanko Muhammad; Dr Ngozi Okonjo Iweala; Ms. Amina J. Mohammed and Prof Tijjani Muhammad-Bande will get the highest honour of Grand Commander of the Order of the Niger (GCON) out of the 447 awardees.

Also, the Speaker of the House of Representatives, Femi Gbajabiamila; Deputy Senate President, Sen. Ovie Omo-Agege; Secretary to the Government of the Federation (SGF) Boss Mustapha; Former Speaker Yakubu Dogara; Justice Kudirat M. Kekere-Ekun; Justice Musa Dattijo Muhammad; Justice Monica Bolna’an, Donghan Mansem and Dr Folashade Yemi-Esan will get the second highest honour of Commander of the Order of the Federal Republic (CFR).

The National Honours Awards was established by the National Honours Act of No 6 in 1964, and it took retroactive effect from October 1, 1963.

This Act empowers the President by warrant, the Nigerian Order of Dignity to honour deserving citizens who have contributed to the development and progress of the country in any field of endeavour.

Advertisement. Scroll to continue reading.

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

In other news


An aspiring House of Representatives member for Asa/Ilorin West Federal Constituency, Alhaji Mohammed Ajia Ibrahim, has faulted the National Honour Awards list, as it...