Wednesday, 17 January 2018


NNL Congress Approve 36 Team League Format For 2017/2018 Season

The Congress of Nigeria National League have adopted a 36 Team Format for the 2017/2018 Football League season which is expected to start in the first weekend  of March.

The new 36 team format will replace the 32 team format formerly in use, and the abridged league format will feature sixteen (16) teams from the North and South who will justle for action.

The teams are divided into groups A and B in both the North and South, with two teams to emerge from each group for a freshly adopted Super eight(8) that will be played in a neutral ground.

The NNL Boss, Honourable Chidi Ofor Okenwa said the essence of the new format is ensure that worthy representatives were promoted to the Nigeria Professional Football League, NPFL.