Wednesday, 17 January 2018

National News

Yoruba Land Set For Aare Ona Kakanfo Installation Jan. 13

The Alaafin of Oyo Oba Lamidi Adeyemi the third and the entire people of Yoruba land are set for the installation of Otunba Gani Adams as the 15th Aare Onakakanfo of Yorubaland for the preservation and protection of Yoruba cultural values.

The chairman of the Aare Onakaknfo installation committee ArchBishop  Ayo Ladigbolu stated this while addressing the press on the preparation for the installation of Aare Onakakanfo at the film theatre of the Ministry of Information, culture and Tourism.

Archbishop Ladigbolu who traced the genesis of the title of Aare Onakaknfo to the tenure of Alaafin Ajagbo in the 16th century who appointed Kokoro Gangan as the first Aare Onakakanfo of Yorubaland.

The Emeritus Archbishop explained that the title of Aare Onakakanfo is equivalent to the war Field Marshall or an Army General who manages the affairs of the Army and protects the territorial coverage of Alaafin.

He added that Otunba Gani Adams was most qualified for the position of Aare Onakakanfo when his contribution to Yoruba development was put into considerations.

He said the Aare Onakakanfo designate Otunba Gani Adams would work with other leaders in Yoruba land to prevent the collapse of Yoruba cultural heritage and promote the values and traditions of Yorubaland.

While responding to questions on the myth usually associated with the death of Aare Onakakanfo, Archbishop Ayo Ladigbolu explained that the title of Aare Onakakanfo has nothing to do with violent death stressing that Ojo Aburumaku and Aare Latoosa who were Aare Onakakanfo during their times died peacefully in their different homes.

Earlier in his welcome address the state commissioner for local Government and Chieftaincy Affairs Mr Bimbo Kolade said the installation of the Aare Onakakanfo will provide the opportunity to celebrate the Yoruba cultural heritage.

He said the tittle of Aare Onakaknfo is the only Yoruba title that cut across all Yoruba race of which its appointment solely rests on the Alaafin of Oyo Oba Lamidi Adeyemi the third .

It would be recalled that Chief Ladoke Akintola was also an Aare Onakakanfo of Yorubaland  before his death in 1966, and he was succeed by Chief MKO Abiola before he also died in 1998 and since then the post had remain vacant until October 2017 when Otunba Gani Adams was announced as the Aare Onakakanfo designate.

The Aare Onakakanfo designate Otunba Gani Adams is currently in seclusion in preparation for the final installation coming on the 13th of January 2018.